Notice: This website is an unofficial Microsoft Knowledge Base (hereinafter KB) archive and is intended to provide a reliable access to deleted content from Microsoft KB. All KB articles are owned by Microsoft Corporation. Read full disclaimer for more details.

Personal data is not removed as expected when Excel file is saved


View products that this article applies to.

Symptoms

When a Microsoft Office Excel workbook is saved and the Remove personal information from this file on save check box is selected, personal information such as your name and company name may not be removed from the file properties as expected.

↑ Back to the top


Cause

This behavior can occur if the workbook is shared because Excel does not remove personal information from a shared workbook.

↑ Back to the top


Resolution

To remove the personal information from a shared workbook, follow these steps:

Excel 2007

  1. Open the document that contains the personal information.
  2. On the Review tab, click Share Workbook in the Changes group.
  3. On the Editing tab, click to clear the Allow changes by more than one user at the same time. This also allows workbook merging. check box, and then click OK.
  4. Click the Microsoft Office Button, and then click Excel Options.
  5. Click Trust Center, and then click Trust Center Settings.
  6. In the Trust Center dialog box, click Privacy Options, and then click to select the Remove personal information from file properties on save check box.
  7. Click the Microsoft Office Button, and then click Save.
  8. On the Review tab, click Share Workbook in the Changes group.
  9. On the Editing tab, click to select the Allow changes by more than one user at the same time. This also allows workbook merging. check box, and then click OK.

Excel 2003, Excel 2002, and Excel 2000

  1. Open the document.
  2. On the Tools menu, click Share Workbook.
  3. Click to clear the Allow changes by more than one user at the same time check box, and then click OK.
  4. On the Tools menu, click Options.
  5. On the Security tab, click to select the Remove personal information from this file on save check box, and then click OK.
  6. On the File menu, click Save.
  7. On the Tools menu, click Share Workbook.
  8. Click to select the Allow changes by more than one user at the same time check box, and then click OK.
Note that the personal information is removed.

↑ Back to the top


Status

Microsoft has confirmed that this is a problem in the Microsoft products that are listed in the "Applies to" section.

↑ Back to the top


Keywords: KB284880, kbpending, kbbug

↑ Back to the top

Article Info
Article ID : 284880
Revision : 4
Created on : 1/31/2007
Published on : 1/31/2007
Exists online : False
Views : 281