Notice: This website is an unofficial Microsoft Knowledge Base (hereinafter KB) archive and is intended to provide a reliable access to deleted content from Microsoft KB. All KB articles are owned by Microsoft Corporation. Read full disclaimer for more details.

OFF2000: Installation Error Prompting Previous User to Reinstall Office


View products that this article applies to.

This article was previously published under Q217697

↑ Back to the top


Symptoms

When you log on to a computer after the installation of Office, or when you attempt to use a feature that is installed the first time it is used, you receive the following message
User '<username>' has previously initiated an install for product 'Microsoft Office 2000 Premium'. That user will need to run that install again before they can use that product.
where <username> is the name of the user who previously installed Office. The only choice you have is to click OK.

↑ Back to the top


Cause

This problem occurs when the following conditions are true:
  • Another user logs on and performs the installation of Office on a computer running Microsoft Windows 95 or Windows 98.

    -and-

  • The Office installation program restarts the computer.

    -and-

  • You log on to the computer before the user who performed the installation logs on.

↑ Back to the top


Workaround

To work around this problem, the user who originally performed the installation of Office should log on to the computer and reinstall the program. When the computer restarts, the original user performing the installation should log on to the computer again, to complete the installation of Office before any other users log on to the computer.

The following steps must be performed by the user who originally installed Office:
  1. Click the Start button, point to Settings, and click Control Panel.
  2. Double-click the Add/Remove Programs icon.
  3. Click to select Microsoft Office 2000, and click Add/Remove.
  4. Click Repair Office.
  5. Select Reinstall Office, and click Finish.
  6. Restart the computer when prompted.
  7. The original user performing the reinstallation of Office logs back on to the computer to complete the installation.

↑ Back to the top


Status

Microsoft has confirmed that this is a problem in the Microsoft products that are listed at the beginning of this article.

↑ Back to the top


More information

When Office is installing, you are usually prompted to restart the computer and may be prompted to log on to the computer. If someone else logged on and started the installation of Office, the message described earlier will be displayed when you log on after the computer restarts.

↑ Back to the top


Keywords: kbbug, kbnofix, KB217697

↑ Back to the top

Article Info
Article ID : 217697
Revision : 4
Created on : 1/24/2007
Published on : 1/24/2007
Exists online : False
Views : 443