Notice: This website is an unofficial Microsoft Knowledge Base (hereinafter KB) archive and is intended to provide a reliable access to deleted content from Microsoft KB. All KB articles are owned by Microsoft Corporation. Read full disclaimer for more details.

SharePoint custom permission for db_owner is removed after content database dismount and mount operations


View products that this article applies to.

Symptoms

After adding users to a SQL database in SharePoint, and then performing dismount and mount operations, the users' db_owner permission is removed. 

 

↑ Back to the top


Cause

This situation occurs when the following steps are taken:

  1. Add two users to the content database with db_owner and SPDataAccess permissions.
  2. Detach the database using Dismount-SPContentDatabase.
  3. Run Mount-SPContentDatabase.

The two users are present in the SQL database, but the db_owner permission has been removed.

SharePoint currently strips all members of ContentDB's DBO role (except for the user running the upgrade) as part of an improved security model.

↑ Back to the top


Resolution

To run the scenario and retain the db_owner permission, you must first modify the registry:

  1. Locate and then select the following registry subkey:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Shared Tools\Web Server Extensions\16.0\WSS\
  2. Select Edit, then New, and then select DWORD Value.
  3. Enter BypassDboDropMember, and then select the Enter key.
  4. In the Details pane, select and hold (or right-click) BypassDboDropMember, and then select Modify.
  5. In the Value data box, enter 1, and then select OK.
  6. Exit the Registry Editor.

↑ Back to the top


Keywords: Detach and reattach, kbContentAuto, kbSupportTopic

↑ Back to the top

Article Info
Article ID : 4523368
Revision : 4
Created on : 9/27/2019
Published on : 10/2/2019
Exists online : False
Views : 428