Notice: This website is an unofficial Microsoft Knowledge Base (hereinafter KB) archive and is intended to provide a reliable access to deleted content from Microsoft KB. All KB articles are owned by Microsoft Corporation. Read full disclaimer for more details.

Image Preview Saves the File When the Rotate Option Is Used on Any Picture


View products that this article applies to.

This article was previously published under Q266245

↑ Back to the top


Symptoms

When you click the Rotate option on any picture, the Image Preview feature automatically saves the file without prompting the user first.

↑ Back to the top


Cause

This behavior can occur when changes are made directly to a picture file that does not have an Undo option.

↑ Back to the top


Resolution

To work around this behavior in Image Preview, use one of the following methods:
  • Rotate the picture in the opposite direction the same number of times that you originally rotated the picture. For example, if you rotated the picture clockwise once, rotate it counter-clockwise once.

    -or-
  • Keep rotating the picture in the same direction until the picture returns to the original orientation.

↑ Back to the top


More information

This behavior occurs both in the My Pictures directory built in Image Preview and in the stand-alone window used to view a picture file.

↑ Back to the top


Keywords: KB266245, kbprb, kbdisplay

↑ Back to the top

Article Info
Article ID : 266245
Revision : 4
Created on : 1/27/2007
Published on : 1/27/2007
Exists online : False
Views : 223